Fair Honoree

Now accepting 2019 Fair Honoree Nominations

Online Fair Honoree Nomination Form

Downloadable Form

2018 Fair Honoree, Elaine Wilson

Elaine Wilson 2018 Fair Honoree  Web

Each year, The Evergreen State Fair honors an individual or family who has contributed significant personal time and energy toward the improvement and betterment of the annual fair. This year, the Evergreen State Fair recognizes and celebrates the dedication of Elaine Wilson, retired Open Class Wool Superintendent.

Elaine’s involvement with the Fair began when she was a young girl participating in 4H showing animals and eating at the Star Grill. What began as a family project to raise dairy goats and sheep quickly grew into four decades of a family business raising sheep, goats, alpacas and more.

As the Open Class Wool Superintendent, Elaine always made it her mission to make her department as educational and interactive as possible. She was known for having great touch and feel displays along with informational handouts so fairgoers could have a better experience and learn about the wool industry. Perhaps one of her best qualities was her compassionate smile and ability to interact with guests who had questions no matter the time of day. Largely because of her passion, Elaine’s husband, kids and even grandkids all show and participate in the Fair each year.

Even though Elaine has retired from her official duties as Superintendent, she still devotes her time each year to demonstrating and educating other people to see it flourish. It’s evident that the continued growth of the department is because of the commitment and care that Elaine shed on it for 20 years and for that reason, the Evergreen State Fair would like to recognize her as the 2018 Fair Honoree.

Past Fair Honorees

Year Name Year Name
2017 Laura Elhai 1998 Frank Cotterill
2016 Linda Cline 1997 Audrey Bannon
2015 Ed & Vicki Miller 1996 Gene Elledge
2014 Pamela Phelps 1995 Beryl Epling
2013 Janice Bond 1994 Jan Coffelt
2012 Bob & Nancy Kash 1993 Elmer & Dee Anderson
2011 Kathleen Wright 1992 Ellene Kearney
2010 Sharon Olsen 1991 Don & Ella Walker
2009 Stan and Nancy Depner 1990 Don Britton
2008 Doug Moening &
Stephanie Hagarty-Moening
1989 Don & Elma Steffen
2007 Tom & Ann Muchoney 1988 Ned Carrick
2006 Marilyn Stout 1987 John Millard
2005 Andy Delegans 1986 Tom & Pat Kennedy & 3 sons
2004 Dave Leatherman 1985 John & Winnie Klein
2003 Robert Drewel 1984 Ted Britten
2002 Hank & Lena Mae Getchman 1983 Ted Larson
2001 Bert Spada 1982 None
2000 Shirley Johnson 1981 None
1999 Ellen Dodge 1980 N. Richard K “Dick” Forsgren